No. 886 - Stanley - Star of the Sea Catholic Church (1850-1897) "A very nice little church of wood"
Stanley is a historic town on the northwest coast approximately 80 kilometres west of Burnie. The Van Diemen's Land Company once had its headquarters in the area which was originally known as Circular Head. It was later named after Lord Stanley, the Secretary of State for the Colonies, who went on to serve three terms as British Prime Minister. Stanley has had four Catholic places of worship: Edward Curr’s Chapel at Highfield (1838); a church built of timber (1850); a stone church (1897) and the present brick church (1931). The first Catholic place of worship at Stanley was a two story stone chapel at Highfield. It was built by Edward Curr, a devout Catholic and the first manager of the Van Diemen's Land Company. The chapel was principally used for Anglican services. When Curr’s chapel was built in 1838 there were only three Catholic priests in the colony with Stanley falling under the charge of Launceston. When Bishop Willson arrived in Tasmania in 1844 he decided to make Stan...