No. 858 - Smithton - St Stephen's Anglican church "Far from common-place"
Smithton is the commercial and industrial centre of the Circular Head district in the far northwest of the island. The early settlement was known as Duck River but this was changed to Smithton in 1895. Smithton is named after an Irishman, Peter Smith, who had been a constable, and later the licensee of ‘The Plough Inn,’ at Stanley. Smith moved to Duck River after buying some 500 acres of land from the Poke and Ollington families. Smith’s success enabled his return to Ireland. Regular Anglican services at Smithton were held in the State school after Reverend McEachern became the first resident minister. By 1910 services were held in Malley’s Hall which was evidently a popular venue for several denominations: “Malley’s Hall was in great request on Sunday last, no less than three different denominations making use of it. The Rev. Father O’Donnell celebrated Mass in the morning. The Anglican Church held a service in the afternoon, and the Rev. Steel (Baptist) had charge in the evening”. ...